Lahti Symphony Orchestra: Symphony Concert

Thursday, May 17, 2018 - 19:00

Lahti Symphony Orchestra: Symphony Concert

The final concert in the spring season is a journey through many emotions. It opens with the Estonian composer Arvo Pärt’s Cantus in Memory of Benjamin Britten which, with its unique, beautifully hypnotic sound, stuns the listener into silence. In Berg’s Violin Concerto, though, we enter a much more playful world. The soloist is Kristóf Baráti from Hungary, a violinist with a wide-ranging international career and recipient of the most prestigious cultural medal in his home country. Former recipients have included the pianist András Schiff, the composer György Ligeti and the conductor Iván Fischer. The final work is Antonín Dvořák’s Sixth Symphony, a bright work that transports the listener to sunny pastures. The concert is conducted by Joshua Weilerstein, making his first guest appearance with the Lahti Symphony Orchestra.

During the 2017–18 concert season, small ensembles from the Lahti Conservatory will perform in the Forest Hall before the evening concerts. These ‘Preludes in the Forest Hall’ performances start half an hour before the main concerts begin. The instrumental combinations and programmes will vary from one performance to the next. Free admission.

Joshua Weilerstein, conductor
Kristóf Baráti, violin

Arvo Pärt: Cantus in Memoriam Benjamin Britten
Alban Berg: Violin Concerto
Antonín Dvořák: Symphony No. 6

Durations 2 hours, includes intermission 20 min.

18.30 Prelude in the Forest Hall  / Lahti Conservatory

Schedule and tickets

Päivä: Thu 17.05.2018 klo 19.00
Main Hall
Liput: 30-24 / 25-20 / 8 €
30-24 € / adults
25-20 € / pensioners
8 € / children, students, unemployed

(includes service charge)